Mascot
Title
Search: Keyword:
Update on Ebola From the Quinnipiac Health Department 10-17-14
Posted On:
Sunday, October 19, 2014
From: Leslie Balch <LBalch@qvhd.org>
Date: Friday, October 17, 2014 9:10 PM
To: "gandrews@highvillecharter.com" <gandrews@highvillecharter.com>, "wocone@hamden.org" <wocone@hamden.org>, "CLeng@Hamden.com" <CLeng@Hamden.com>, Charles Dumais <Charles.dumais@reg5.k12.ct.us>, "Edmondson, Craig" <cedmondson@aces.org>, Gaeton Stella <gstella@woodbridge.k12.ct.us>, Jody Goeler <jgoeler@hamden.org>, john barile <jbarile@bethany-ed.org>, Robert Cronin <cronin.robert@north-haven.k12.ct.us>
Cc: "V. Deborah Culligan" <dculligan@qvhd.org>, "Derrilyn Gorski (dgorski@Bethany-CT.com)" <dgorski@Bethany-CT.com>, Ellen Scalettar <escalettar@woodbridgect.org>, "firstselectman@town.north-haven.ct.us" <firstselectman@town.north-haven.ct.us>, Scott Jackson <sjackson@hamden.com>
Subject: Ebola Updates

1.       CDC blood-test has confirmed Yale New Haven Hospital patient has negative blood test for Ebola.

 

2.       Currently, in the State of CT it is unlikely that a student or staff or parent that has traveled to an Ebola affected area, or has been in contact with an infected individual (even low-risk contact), will be in school building because they would be required to stay at home for 21 days and instructed to take their temperature twice a day and be monitored by a public health worker (quarantined). If symptoms suggestive of Ebola virus develop during the quarantine, they would be sent to a hospital for evaluation and placed in isolation.

 

This is more restrictive than the current Interim guidelines from CDC, which can be read at www.cdc.gov/vhf/ebola/hcp/infection-prevention-and-control-recommendations.html and renders the New York City guidelines for Schools and Day Cares (distributed yesterday) not fully functional for CT. QVHD will modify the guidance document for your use over the weekend.

 

To quote part of yesterday’s press release from governor Melloy:

“United Way 211 is providing information and links on its website at www.211ct.org, or you can call 2-1-1.

 

Today, the Governor and the Commissioner are issuing the following guidance, which is more stringent than the guidelines thus far issued by the Federal Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): If you become sick with a fever and/or any of the symptoms of Ebola virus disease such as nausea, vomiting and diarrhea, and you:

 

·         Have traveled to Liberia, Sierra Leone, or Guinea in the last 21 days, or

·         Have had contact with a person who has Ebola virus disease.

You will be sent to a hospital for evaluation and placed in room separate from other patients – this is called isolation.

 

If you are not sick, but have traveled to affected areas or been in contact with an infected individual, you will be required to stay at home for 21 days and take your temperature twice a day.  Public heath health workers will contact you twice a day by phone to see how you are doing.  This is called quarantine. If you develop a fever or other symptoms suggestive of Ebola virus during the time that you are required to be home, you will be sent to a hospital for evaluation and placed in room separate from other patients.” [Emphasis added]

 

 

cid:image001.png@01CC8434.53EFC4D0

Leslie Balch

Director of Health, Quinnipiack Valley Health District

Website: www.qvhd.org      Email: lbalch@qvhd.org

Telephone: 203-248-4528     Mobile: 203-619-1288

1151 Hartford Turnpike, North Haven, CT 06473

 

 

 

View all Highlights
Page Bottom